1878 March

8th  “Being unable to secure a team sufficiently strong to cope with the other nines,” Louisville submits its resignation from the NL, reducing the circuit for 1878 to 6 clubs: Boston, Providence, Cincinnati, Indianapolis, Chicago, and Milwaukee.

9th  The Cincinnati club puts president J. M. Neff “in full charge of the club.” There will be no manager, just a captain from among the players.

13th  The Pittsburgh Alleghenies mail their $50 entry fee to the International Association to join, beating the deadline by 2 days. Despite the increase in the price from $10 last year, 13 clubs are entered for the championship.

21st  Milwaukee hires Jack Chapman as manager. He had run the Louisville NL team for the previous 2 seasons.

27th  The National Association of Amateur Base Ball Players disbands. This organization had traced its roots back to the first National Association founded in 1858.