1883 November

22nd  New York owner John B. Day proposes a resolution to prohibit a team from signing a player who has broken the reserve clause in his contract. This resolution, eventually adopted by both the AA and the NL, effectively changes the reserve rule from a device designed to protect owners from their own greediness to a vindictive weapon to be used against uncooperative players.

24th  The AA agree to expand to 12 teams by admitting Brooklyn, Washington, Indianapolis and Toledo.