1945 November

6th Billy Southworth leaves the Cardinals to sign a 3-year contract with the Braves, who are making aggressive moves under Lou Perini and other new owners. Eddie Dyer will become the new Cardinal pilot.

8th For the second year in a row, MVP honors in the AL go to Detroit’s Hal Newhouser. Teammate Eddie Mayo finishes a distant 2nd, with George Stirnweiss a close 3rd. Newhouser is the only pitcher to ever win the honor twice in a row.

11th The Cubs Phil Cavarretta (279 points) is named the NL MVP with Boston’s Tommy Holmes finishing 2nd. The Cubs Andy Pafko finishes 4th. The Sporting News MVP Awards will go to both second place finishers: Tommy Holmes and Eddie Mayo. The newspaper will discontinue the MVP awards starting next year.

15th The rules are revised for election of modern players to the Hall of Fame. A runoff election is formulated as a way to qualify more players for selection, but it fails to meet its objective as no one reaches the 75 percent requirement in the runoff. Frank Chance, Johnny Evers, Miller Huggins, and Ed Walsh come closest.