1982 November

1st  At a meeting in Chicago, the ML owners vote not to renew Commissioner Bowie Kuhn’s contract, which will expire next August. The AL owners voted in favor of Kuhn 11-3, the NL 7-5. But his 18 votes left him 2 shy of the three-fourths majority required for reelection. Kuhn will remain on the job until a successor is found.

      Thirty-eight-year-old Doug Rader, who spent the last 3 seasons as manager of the Padres’ Triple-A farm club, will pilot the Texas Rangers. The former infielder becomes the club’s 12th manager in its 12-year life.

3rd  Pete Vuckovich becomes the Brewers’ 2nd consecutive AL Cy Young Award winner, edging Jim Palmer. Vuckovich was 18-6 with a 3.34 ERA for the AL champions, and has the highest winning percentage in the majors for the past 2 seasons.

4th  Yankees coach Mike Ferraro lands his first ML managing job, signing a 2-year contract to lead the Cleveland Indians. He will be fired before the end of the 1983 season.

9th  Robin Yount, who hit .331 for Milwaukee and led the league in hits (210), doubles (46), and slugging percentage (.578), is a unanimous choice as AL MVP.

11th  Joe Altobelli succeeds the retired Earl Weaver as Oriole manager. Altobelli is the 2nd Yankee coach to take a managing job this month, and will be Baltimore’s first new pilot since 1968.

17th  Dale Murphy wins the NL MVP Award, becoming the first Brave to be so honored since Hank Aaron in 1957. The centerfielder hit .281 with 36 HR, 109 RBI, 113 runs, and 23 stolen bases.

22nd  2B Steve Sax is named NL Rookie of the Year, the 4th consecutive Dodger to win the award. Sax hit .282 and stole 49 bases as Davey Lopes’ replacement in the Los Angeles infield.

24th  Cal Ripken, Jr., who hit .264 with 28 HRs as a SS-3B for the Orioles, is named AL Rookie of the Year.