1983 November

2nd  John Denny wins the NL Cy Young Award, collecting 20 of 24 first-place votes to defeat runner-up Mario Soto. Denny was 19-6 with a 2.37 ERA for the NL champion Phillies.

8th  Atlanta’s Dale Murphy wins his 2nd consecutive NL MVP Award, joining Ernie Banks, Joe Morgan, and Mike Schmidt, who also accomplished that feat. Murphy hit .302 with 36 HRs, 121 RBI, and 30 SBs this season, and received 21 of a possible 24 first-place votes.

9th  University of Alabama 1B Dave Magadan, who led the NCAA with a .535 batting average last season, wins the Golden Spike Award as the outstanding amateur baseball player in the United States.

15th  Cal Ripken is named MVP of the AL, edging Orioles teammate Eddie Murray. Ripken hit .318 and led the league in hits (211) and runs (111) while playing every inning of every game, and is the first player ever to win the Rookie of the Year and MVP Awards in consecutive seasons.

17th  Kansas City Royals teammates Willie Wilson, Willie Aikens, and Jerry Martin, who, along with former teammate Vida Blue, had pleaded guilty to attempting to purchase cocaine, are each sentenced to 3 months in prison.

21st  Darryl Strawberry becomes the first non-Dodger since 1978 to win the NL Rookie of the Year Award. Strawberry hit .257 for the Mets with 26 home runs and 74 RBI and also stole 19 bases.

      The Mariners trade reliever Bill “The Inspector” Caudill (his theme was the Pink Panther theme) and a player to be named later (minor leaguer Darrel Akerfelds) to the A’s for catcher Bob Kearney and pitcher Dave Beard.

22nd  White Sox OF Ron Kittle, who hit .254 with 35 HRs and 100 RBI, but also struck out a league-leading 150 times, wins the AL Rookie of the Year Award. Cleveland’s Julio Franco and Baltimore’s Mike Boddicker finish 2nd and 3rd.

      The Players’ Association fires executive director Kenneth Moffett and chooses Donald Fehr as his successor.