2008 November

5thThe NL Gold Glove team is announced. P Greg Maddux leads the way with his record 18th Gold Glove. Other winners are C Yadier Molina, 1B Adrian Gonzalez, 2B Brandon Phillips, SS Jimmy Rollins, 3B David Wright, and outfielders Nate McLouth, Carlos Beltran and Shane Victorino.

6thThe AL Gold Glove team is announced. Winners are P Mike Mussina, C Joe Mauer, 1B Carlos Pena, 2B Dustin Pedroia, SS Michael Young, 3B Adrian Beltre, and outfielders Torii Hunter, Ichiro Suzuki and Grady Sizemore.

10thEvan Longoria and Geovany Soto are named winners of the AL and NL Rookie of the Year awards. Alexei Ramirez and Joey Votto are the runners-up.

Red Sox P Jon Lester is named winner of the Hutch Award. The award goes to the player who best exemplifies the honor, courage and dedication of former ML P and manager Fred Hutchinson.

11thThe Marlins send P Scott Olsen and OF Josh Willingham to the Nationals for 2B Emilio Bonifacio and minor leaguers Jake Smolinski and PJ Dean.

Marlins P Henry Owens is suspended for the first 50 games of the 2009 season after testing positive for a performance-enhancing substance. He is the 3rd player suspended this year under the program.

SF Giants P Tim Lincecum is named winner of the NL Cy Young Award. Arizona’s Brandon Webb finishes in 2nd place.

12thThe Athletics acquire slugging OF Matt Holliday from the Rockies in exchange for OF Carlos Gonzalez, starting P Greg Smith, and reliever Huston Street.

Joe Maddon and Lou Piniella are named winners of the AL and NL Manager of the Year awards.

13thIndians P Cliff Lee is named winner of the AL Cy Young Award. Toronto’s Roy Halladay is runner-up.

The Marlins send P Kevin Gregg to the Cubs for minor league P Jose Ceda.  Gregg was 7-8 with 29 saves for the Fish.

The Yankees obtain OF-1B Nick Swisher and minor league P Kaneoka Texeira from the White Sox in exchange for IF Wilson Betemit and minor league pitchers Jeff Marquez and Jhonny Nunez.

Silver Slugger awards are announced. Winners in the AL are Justin Morneau (1B), Dustin Pedroia (2B), Alex Rodriguez (3B), Derek Jeter (SS), Josh Hamilton, Carlos Quentin and Grady Sizemore (OF), Joe Mauer (C), and Aubrey Huff (DH). NL winners are Albert Pujols (1B), Chase Utley (2B), David Wright (3B), Hanley Ramirez (SS), Matt Holliday, Ryan Ludwick and Ryan Braun (OF), Brian McCann (C), and Carlos Zambrano (P).

17thAlfred Pujols of the Cardinals is named NL MVP. It is the 2nd time he has won the award. Ryan Howard of the Phillies finishes in 2nd place.

The Giants sign free agent P Jeremy Affeldt to a two-year deal.

18thDustin Pedroia of the Red Sox is named AL MVP. Justin Morneau, the 2006 winner, finished in 2nd place. Pedroia, the scrappy infielder for Boston, is the first MVP since Willie Hernandez in 1984 not to receive a vote on every ballot.

The Mariners name former Oakland coach Don Wakamatsu as their new manager.

19thThe Royals obtain OF Coco Crisp from the Red Sox in exchange for P Ramon Ramirez.

20thBaseball commissioner Bud Selig announces that the sport will enact a rule change stating that postseason games cannot be shortened because of bad weather.

Yankee pitcher Mike Mussina announces his retirement. Mussina, 40, won 20 games for the first time this season, and in an 18-year career with New York and Baltimore finishes 117 games over .500 at 270-153.  Every pitcher with 100 more wins than losses is in the Hall of Fame.

The Braves claim 23-year old pitcher Eric O’Flaherty off waivers from the Mariners. Flaherty was 0-1 last year but went 7-1 in 2007.

In New York, economist and former Fed chairman Paul Volker addresses owners and officials of the 30 major league teams on the current economic situation. Volker has a history of helping baseball with its economic problems and served on two committees that addressed the problems of big market and small market teams.  In a related story, the Red Sox earlier this week announced that ticket prices would remain the same for the coming season, something that has not happened since 1994.

George Steinbrenner passes control of the Yankees to his son, Hal.

24thThe Pirates announce the signing of two 20-year-old Indian pitchers, Rinku Singh and Dinesh Patel. They are believed to be the first athletes from India to sign pro baseball contracts outside their country. The two were the top finishers out of 37,000 on an Indian reality show, “Million Dollar Arm.” Neither one has ever taken the mound in a game situation, but Singh hit 90 MPH in front of scouts while Patel throws in the mid-80s. Patel will wash out of Rookie ball by 2010 and return to India, while Singh will last longer posting a 3-1 record in low-A ball in 2012. Earlier this year the Bucs signed South African shortstop prospect Mpho Ngoepe.

The Rangers send P Wes Littleton to the Red Sox for a player to be named (Beau Vaughan) and cash.